Two common herbs that scientific studies have shown to help counteract the damaging effects of radiation exposure

Ginger & Lemon Balm for Radiation Exposure

Photo by Brad Einarsen (courtesy of Flickr and Creative Commons)

Below’s a link to an excellent blog post I received today (Feb. 26, 2014) from Dr. Michael Greger (nutritionfacts.org) on the results of studies done on the effects of ginger and lemon balm on cell damage from radiation exposure.

Ginger & Lemon Balm for Radiation Exposure | NutritionFacts.org.

I’ve written about my concern regarding my wife’s quarterly (and sometimes more frequent) CT scans to monitor her stage 4 breast cancer. I’ve read of a certain percentage of cancer related deaths actually related to CT scans. I find myself wondering if her CT scans are actually worsening a bad situation. I don’t have a definitive answer yet but I’ll keep searching and post as I find science-based clues among the many conflicting opinions.

I’ve posted a couple of other Nutrition Facts videos on the dangers of CT scans, especially on children. (Dr. Greger has written that one CT scan exposes the patient to the equivalent of about 400 standard x-rays.)

I live on the island of Guam in the Pacific Ocean and many here are concerned about the possible radiation from military waste dumps and fish caught in the Pacific showing higher radiation levels due to the Fukushima disaster. At one time fish were considered a pretty “clean” food. I think those days are slowly disappearing.

This video may offer a strategy to at least partially counteract the radiation so many people are experiencing from different sources.

Leave a comment

February 20, 2014 · 10:35 am

Leave a Reply

